Review: The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert

Posted April 2, 2017 by Cocktails and Books in Joelle, Reviews / 0 Comments

Review: The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. ReichertThe Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert
Published by Gallery Books on May 16th 2017
ISBN: 1501154923
Pages: 336
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository
Goodreads

Fall in love with The Simplicity of Cider, the charming new novel about a prickly but gifted cider-maker whose quiet life is interrupted by the arrival of a handsome man and his young son at her family’s careworn orchard by the author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and Luck, Love & Lemon Pie.
Focused and unassuming fifth generation cider-maker Sanna Lund has one desire: to live a simple, quiet life on her family’s apple orchard in Door County, Wisconsin. Although her business is struggling, Sanna remains fiercely devoted to the orchard, despite her brother’s attempts to convince their aging father to sell the land.
Single dad Isaac Banks has spent years trying to shield his son Sebastian from his troubled mother. Fleeing heartbreak at home, Isaac packed up their lives and the two headed out on an adventure, driving across the country. Chance—or fate—led them straight to Sanna’s orchard.
Isaac’s helping hands are much appreciated at the apple farm, even more when Sanna’s father is injured in an accident. As Sanna’s formerly simple life becomes increasingly complicated, she finds solace in unexpected places—friendship with young Sebastian and something more deliciously complex with Isaac—until an outside threat infiltrates the farm.
From the warm and funny Amy E. Reichert, The Simplicity of Cider is a charming love story with a touch of magic, perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Gayle Forman.

Cocktails and Books received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect our opinion of the book or the content of our review.

The Simplicity of Cider, by Amy E. Reichert was a pleasure to read. The characters were rich and developed and readers will find themselves attached to them right away. Sanna & Isaac’s love story was intriguing, as well as the complicated parent/child relationships Reichert explores. If you are like me, you will be fascinated by the information on apple orchards and even more so by the process of making hard cider. You may also find yourself craving the apple desserts and hard ciders that Reichert describes in great detail.
There has already been a lot of hurt in the lives of Sanna & Isaac before they meet. They both have their guards up for different reasons-Sanna’s past has made it difficult for her to trust others & Isaac is doing everything he can to protect his son from any further emotional stress. When they do meet, there is an immediate attraction, but of course there are obstacles in the relationship.
The apple orchards have been in Sanna’s family for generations and mean a great deal to her–even though she & her dad (Einars) are the only family members who seem to share that love of the land. They are struggling to make ends meet, especially since Einars borrowed a lot of money in order to set Sanna up with a state of the art cider making facility in their barn. She has a gift when it comes to apples and especially in cider making and her and Einars know it could be a lucrative endeavor, IF they get it marketed properly. Isaac and his son, Sebastian (aka Bass or any other fish for that matter!), come along just in time. Just in time to help with the orchards, get their marketing into the 21st century and mend some emotional wounds.
As I was reading this story, Reichert’s descriptions of Door County Wisconsin got me wanting to visit! I even told my mom, “I am reading this book about this quaint area in Wisconsin and I want to go there!” It sounds like a beautiful place with so many charming things to do–you won’t have to wonder why her characters love it there so much. I think Reichert should get a kickback from Door County tourism! This is definitely a recommended read from me.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge